top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVicky J.

The Boy On The Bridge

After loving The Girl With All The Gifts (see previous review, here) I couldn't wait to read the sequel. It's not a sequel in the normal sense, it is a second book in the same universe, but it is set (I think) in a time frame before the first book. It did take me a few chapters to warm up this time, but once you do get into it you're hooked.


The main character this time is harder to distinguish - you start with the point of view of Dr Khan aboard Rosie. However, as the book progresses to me it felt like Greaves became the main voice and took the focus. Which I didn't mind, to me Greaves was a much more interesting character to watch develop and the way he was written really did suck you in. The way his brain worked, and his pretty harrowing backstory, he was just a really fascinating character. Not to forget he provided me with my favourite quote from the whole book.

'A dead child, he strongly suspects, will only add to her troubles right now'

Which doesn't sound too funny right now! But trust me, when you're in the story with them and you have the context it is.


The story is still based around the battle with cordyceps, but this time you're aboard Rosie (yes from the first book!) when she is in working condition and full of scientists and soldiers touring the UK for answers. As you cam imagine, a team of humans in such a small space, for such a long time...drama happens. A lot of drama.


Whilst I didn't enjoy this quite as much as The Girl With All The Gifts, it is still an amazing book. If you enjoyed the first book, you will definitely enjoy this one too.

Again, I highly recommend!


17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page