top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVicky J.

The Girl With All The Gifts

When I first picked up the book, I'll be honest I wasn't expecting too much. The concept of zombies is one that I am generally tired of; I feel it is overdone and usually, poorly done too. It's something me, my Dad and my partner argue on a lot because they'll buy into anything zombie themed. However, this was a really refreshing and captivating take on the whole idea, and was a lot of fun to read.


The main character, Melanie, is one you instantly fall in love with. She is that curious and funny niece or daughter of a friend you know. She just wants to learn and experience and feel love, and throughout the book she eventually does. Though in the start you can see she is capable of a lot, she really flourishes and becomes her own when out in the wider world later in the book.


The other characters are also great, and unlike some other books they're not just 2D supporting characters with no depth or note of interest. I won't go into it because ~spoilers~ but trust me!


Even though the main theme of the book is this pathogen 'cordyceps' (which I googled, and it's a real fungus?? Please don't take over the human race) this book has so much more to it. The story has so many layers, and the whole idea of the book to me is genius, who would have looked at a fungus and thought 'yeah, that'll make a good book'. M.R Carey apparently, and he was right.


M.R Carey has written a truly wonderful book, and I can't recommend it enough!

18 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page